Close Window
Print Window
Return to Main News Page

In the News

Honoring the Past and Welcoming the Future in Chillicothe City Government
BY ANGIE TALKEN, CT April 10, 2019

It was standing room only in the Chillicothe City Council Chambers on Wednesday for the sine die meeting of the 105th Chillicothe City Council and swearing in of the new mayor, city council and other city officials. The last meeting of the 105th Chillicothe County Council marked the last lead by then-Mayor Reep Dupy. After being presented a plaque from City Administrator Darin Chappell, Dupy thanked the council for their hard work. "I thank each of you for your hard work and dedication to this city and its government," he said. "I know going forward this city is in good hands, there is good leadership."

Angie Talken, CT Photo

During their meeting, former mayor Chuck Haney and former councilmen Tom Douglas and Paul Howard were honored. "I have never seen or heard of a city government who suffered so much loss in such a short time," City Administrator Darin Chappell said. Chuck Haney, also called "Mr. Chillicothe" served as councilman- at-large from 2001-2005 and served as mayor from 2007 until his death in 2018. Chappell described him as a jewel for the community. Former Third Ward Councilman Tom Douglas spent 20 years representing constituents. Paul Howard served as Fourth Ward Councilman from 2009- 2011 and 2013-2019 when his health forced him to resign. Before a moment of silence, Chappell noted that the three men served with determination and dedication despite their physical health. "These three men worked harder at being a part of this city government then anyone will ever really know," he said. Chappell then praised the city council and employees for remaining steadfast in their passion and work for the city, when faced with the grief of losing their friends, fellow council members and leaders.

Following a presentation of the award to Dupy, Councilman-At-Large Tom Ashbrook made the motion for the council meeting to adjourn.

City Clerk Roze Frampton began the swearing-in ceremony by presenting Theresa Kelly with a plaque for her 25 years of service to the city as auditor. Kelly, who was elected mayor during the April 2 election, then stood with her husband Jack and placed her hand on a Bible to be sworn in as Chillicothe's new mayor. Frampton then swore in new City Auditor Hannah Fletcher; City Constable Jon Maples; First Ward Councilman Denny Albertson, Fourth Ward Councilwoman Pam Jarding; the new Third Ward Councilman Michael Brown. Second Ward Councilman Wayne Cunningham and Councilman-at-Large Tom Ashbrook were sworn in together. Frampton chose to have Fletcher, the new auditor, perform her swearing in as the city clerk, a position has has held since 1999.

The next City Council meeting with the new mayor and council will take place at 6:30 p.m., on April 22 at City Hall.

Return to Top

Close Window
Return to Home Page