City Council

The City of Chillicothe was incorporated in 1837 and is a special charter form of city government. It is one of five such cities in the State of Missouri. It is a Mayor/City Council format which allows for wide latitude in self government.

Elections are held every two years for all city officers. Candidates must be a resident of the city for one year preceding an election, and be a registered voter before the registration deadline. The elected posts consist of Mayor, each of four ward Councilmen, a Councilman-at-Large, City Clerk, Auditor, City Attorney, and Constable.

There is an appointed City Administrator who directs and supervises all department heads and is responsible to the City Council and Mayorfor the administration of all city affairs placed under his charge by law or ordinance. Even though Chillicothe has been growing larger, the city officials pride themselves on being available, approachable, and accessible by every citizen. Download our Local Emergency Operations Plan.

Chillicothe's City Council works closely with Mayor Theresa Kelly and helps keep our city progressing in the right direction. The Council consists of five councilpersons who meet the second and last Monday of each month. Each meeting begins at 6:30 p.m.

The public is invited to attend all open sessions.

City Council Members

NameTitlePhone NumberAddress


(660) 646-2267

715 Washington St.

City Administrator

(660) 646-2424

715 Washington St.

Tom Ashbrook


(660) 646-6356

2112 Woodcrest Dr.

Denny Albertson

1st Ward

(660) 247-2043

2115 Meadowlane Dr.

Wayne D. Cunningham

2nd Ward

(660) 646-6106

660 Elmdale

Josh Fosdick

3rd Ward


343 Jackson

Pam Jarding

4th Ward

(816) 806-8194

911 Sunnyview